Ruth Barker Memorial Trophy

2022 and 2023 Champion
Rhonda DeMuth

Beginning in the 1960s, ladies competitions were held at most events. As participation increased, an official Ladies Championship was established in 1972 when the first Ruth Barker Memorial Trophy was awarded by her husband Richard B. Barker. Since then the Annual Ladies Match Play Championship has been held at the same time as the year-ending men‘s championship.  

The first Lady Champion was Bunny McAlpine of Summit, NJ.  Mrs. McAlpine successfully defended her title, winning again in 1973.  Since then there have been eight multiple champions, Louise Hightower of Duluth, GA in 1977-1978, Laverta Cassady of Vero Beach, FL in 1984-1985, and Sally Anderson of Houston, TX in 1999 and 2002, Kathy Lessene in 2005 and 2009, Gillian Curley in 2010-2011, Susie Dauber of Simpsonville, SC in 2017-2018 and Rhonda DeMuth, Bluffton, SC in 2022 -2023.  Mrs. Cassady won again in 1986 making her the only three time winner.  Eve Biron of St. Lambert, QC Canada who won in 1990 was the first international champion.

Rhonda DeMuth (right)
2023 Champion
Lou Tenarvitz (left)

The 52nd Ruth Barker Memorial Trophy winner is Rhonda DeMuth from Bluffton, SC, the defending Champion.  Mrs. DeMuth defeated a strong field of lady competitors to emerge as the 2023 SSGA Champion.  The Championship Flight was conducted as an individual match play event at scratch with all other flights playing match play at net scoring. Lou Tenarvitz (Fernandina Beach, FL) was runner-up while Danette Hensel (Lakeland, FL) and Nanette Williams (Columbia, TN) were semi-finalists. 

The Ladies enjoyed spirited competition over the three championship courses at the Sea Island Resort in Georgia. New friendships were discovered along with the quest for trophies!

Winners of the Ruth Barker Memorial Trophy

1972Bunny MacAlpineSummit, NJ
1973Bunny MacAlpineSummit, NJ
1974Betty BradyHilton Head Island SC
1975Virginia LaCourDaytona Beach, FL
1976Shirley SelmanWhispering Pines, NC
1977Louise HightowerDuluth, GA
1978Louise HightowerDuluth, GA
1979Goody ManzoneOcala, FL
1980Anne CoupeRochester, NY
1981Harriet NullCorpus Christi, TX
1982Marjorie KeenoyFort Myers, FL
1983Blosson McBrierSea Island, GA
1984Laverta CassadyVero Beach, FL
1985Laverta CassadyVero Beach, FL
1986Debbie LeemingHilton Head Island SC
1987Laverta CassadyVero Beach, FL
1988Pat BinghamHilton Head Island SC
1989Ginny EstesStuart, FL
1990Eve BironSt. Lambert, QC Canada
1991Patty MooreCharlotte, NC
1992Margarite ConoverHouston, TX
1993Bobbie ForrestGreensboro, NC
1994Judy HankeyTequesta, FL
1995Sue RiggensSt. Petersburg, FL
1996Joanne MosesDataw Island, SC
1997Dottie DaceGainesville, FL
1998Diane BiggersHighlands, NC
1999Sally AndersonHouston, TX

2000Holly RicheyFairfax, VA
2001Nancy LambWilliamsburg, VA
2002Sally AndersonHouston, TX
2003Buff PerryWinston-Salem, NC
2004Joanie JordanDataw Island, SC
2005Kathie LesesneAtlanta, GA
2006Karen SidesMcCormick, SC
2007Tracey GregoryHilton Head Island, SC
2008Mary Ann SoldoHilton Head Island, SC
2009Kathie LesesneAtlanta, GA
2010Gillian CurleyLeicestershire England
2011Gillian CurleyLeicestershire England
2012Gayle TallardyNewburgh, NY
2013Sherri KaufoldVidalia, GA
2014Fran ScovilleNaples, FL
2015Nancee DuffyVenice, FL
2016Jeri KennedyBonita Springs, FL
2017Susie DauberSimpsonville, SC
2018Susie DauberSimpsonville, SC






Karen Stewart

Louise Givens

Mary Ann Soldo

Rhonda DeMuth

Rhonda DeMuth

Columbus, GA

Columbia, SC

Hilton Head Island, SC

Bluffton, SC

Bluffton, SC

Annual Championship
(L to R) 2009 Champion Kathy Lesesne, Libby Kronenwetter,
2009 Runner-Up Jean Thomas 
Dorado Beach Golf Club